Who Are The Cowboy Artists?

On June 23, 1965, four Western artists met in Sedona Arizona to discuss the future of Western art. Deliberating on the future of Western Realism, Joe Beeler, Charlie Dye, John Hampton and George Phippen envisioned an artists' association to achieve serious goals. First, it would serve to insure that as society changed, the stature of Western art within the arena of fine art would remain solidly fixed. Second, it would set high standards for its members, "to insure authentic representation of the life of the West, as it was and is. . ."

From those ideals and that small beginning was borne the most prestigious association of Western artists in the nation, The Cowboy Artists of America.

Since that time the association has steadily expanded, and today has more than 25 active member artists. These talented artists paint and sculpt variations of the Western theme, such as the mountain men, the Plains Indians, and the settlers. While some prefer the historic subject matter of the Old West, others prefer contemporary ranch life as their focus. Their knowledge often comes from firsthand experience as many CAA members were cowboys before they were artists. At other times the needed information is as close as their own studio, where most of them maintain an exhaustive supply of research materials, including books, photographs, and personal collections of Western artifacts. In all cases, the goal is authenticity, and the group has remained true to its founding vision of Western art that is a genuine reflection of reality. Critics say the artwork of today's CAA members ranks with that of the two "greats" of the last century, artists Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell.

New members elected to the CAA are initiated with a "boot print" ceremony at the Cowboy Artists of America Museum in Kerrville, Texas. While this unique Western art museum bears the association's name, it is actually a separate non-profit entity which serves the public. Through a cooperative effort with the museum, CAA members make their works available for public viewing. Of equal importance, artists within the CAA are highly supportive of the museum's ongoing art education program. They work hand-in-hand with the museum to educate new artists in the fundamentals of Western realism, and stress that Western art has as its basis the same underlying principles inherent in all other forms of fine art.

Being recognized as a member of the CAA is the "high water mark" to which many of todays up-and-coming Western artists aspire, as the Cowboy Artists of America have earned the highest reputation for quality, discipline, and professionalism in Western art.

Members of the Cowboy Artists of America:

Active Members:
Roy Andersen, Wayne Baize, Joe Beeler, Gary Carter, Donald Crowley, Loren Entz, Fred Fellows, Bruce Greene, Martin Grelle, David Halbach, Oreland Joe, Mehl Lawson, Herb Mignery, John Moyers, Bill Nebeker, Gary Niblett, Jim Norton, Bill Owen, Robert Pummill, James Reynolds, Ron Riddick, Kenneth Riley, Grant Speed, Ray Swanson, Howard Terpning, and Fritz White.

Emeritus Members:
Bud Helbig, Harvey W. Johnson, William Moyers, Frank Polk, Tom Ryan, Robert Scriver, Gordon Snidow, and Jack Swanson

Deceased Members:
Allen F. Brewer, Jr., James Boren, John Clymer, Charlie Dye, Nick Eggenhoffer, John Hampton, Pat Haptonstall, Fred C. Harman, Robert Lougheed, Tom Lovell, George Marks, R. Brownell McGrew, Robert Meyers, George Phippen, Irvin Shorty Shope, Donald Teague, Melvin Warren, and Byron Wolfe.

To learn more about these artists, please visit the CAA website at:,
or the Cowboy Artists of America Museum website at: